top of page

Living in Quarantine

Last week, I was asked to write an article reflecting on how my senior year in high school has been affected as a result of the CoronaVirus Pandemic. My immediate response was a flat no. You might be amazed by this as many students, especially seniors, are saddened by the “stay at home” rule. The reason as to why this is my response is:

  1. I didn’t feel so negative towards the transition from in-class to online learning

  2. I don’t really mind missing out on the iconic American High School Senior milestones: Prom, Grad Nite, Senior Sleepover, etc.

In fact, I have become much more productive in school, started a new workout routine, and have read so many books!!! So naturally, in my mind, I thought, “Why should I write about the losses when I am not even that bothered by the drastic changes?”

I believe that the reason I feel this way correlates with the fact that I grew up in a different country. School dances are a strong American tradition that I value and love so much, but when I was a little girl I never grew up daydreaming about the dress that I would wear for Prom. Although, yes, I do have many friends that are devastated that Prom might be canceled, I believe that I have come to the conclusion that it’s never the event that was special, it was the people, the memories, and the tradition. This is what made me rethink my decision on writing this article.

No, I am still not sad that I will be missing out on my senior events, but I am hurt that I won’t have the opportunity to have my final “Hurrah!” with the girls that have been supporting me for the past four years. I miss putting on my uniform every day. I miss interacting with my classmates and teachers in person. I miss driving to school(even though it takes me 50 minutes to get there). I miss everything. It is hard to face this, but being in such a dire situation, I have come to notice my privilege.

I have the opportunity to continue my education online in order to keep my Graduation date, even if it means “Virtual Graduation.” I have a house that keeps me safe, healthy, and warm. Food and water to keep me healthy. But most importantly, I have my family living under the same roof. These are difficult times for everyone. We are all in panic mode, scared of touch, scared of sickness, and scared of death.

COVID-19 is a secret agent that hides beneath our skin waiting for the perfect moment to strike on us. We might not even know that it creeps behind us. Its swift and silent attacks are dangerous for our communities and if I need to stay at home and follow the health guidelines to help those around me, then I will. We all should. This is no longer a chance to protect yourself, but a chance to protect those around you. Your economic status, ethnicity, political views, age, gender, religion, nationality, it doesn’t matter. This virus doesn’t discriminate. Therefore, stay at home and care for humanity.

I understand that I am one of many opinions on this pandemic. I have asked six seniors from the Class of 2020 to write about their thoughts and gave them a chance to express how they are feeling affected during these tough times. We don’t want to mute others, but instead, help them get heard. Respect and enjoy their opinions.


Stay safe, healthy and optimistic!

Sofía R-K. '20

 

Nicolette Frank '20

I’m one of those people who just can’t help but try and find the positive in every situation. Obviously there are times when I get overwhelmed by the negative and can’t find anything good in a situation. Luckily with the coronavirus, I am surrounded by amazing people who keep things bright. The Coronavirus is a scary thing, especially in how quickly it is spreading, but to be completely honest I highly appreciate being under quarantine. I have been able to spend time with my family, when before I would only see them a few hours a day. I now am able to focus more on the things I love, like puzzles, art, and design. Even my sleep schedule is getting back on track, even though I do have about 6 years of sleep deprivation to catch up on. Like most people, I downplayed the whole situation at first. However, after seeing the true effect of the Coronavirus I understand that this is something to take very seriously, especially if you have loved ones who are either old or have pre-existing conditions. I have grandparents and friends who if infected would be at extreme risk of dying, so for them, I follow the rules and take only what is necessary from stores, wash my hands (even though we always should be corona or not), and SOCIAL DISTANCING.

The Coronavirus has also shown me the true injustice in the U.S. government. Those who we are currently relying on are the ones who live off minimum wage (grocery store clerks, truck drivers, garbagemen, etc.). They are putting their lives at risk to ensure this country is still running, yet on the daily can barely afford to take care of their families. So, I thank them for their work and sacrifice for us. The effects of this pandemic are extremely saddening in different ways to different people. In my case as a senior in high school who is having all the potential major memories canceled can be very disappointing. Still, it can also be a moment to slow down from the busy world we live in. It can be a time to explore new hobbies, reconnect with old friends, or spend more time with loved ones. Thus, like most things, I try to highlight the hope within a situation without ignoring the tragedy of it.


Kat Greene '20

COVID-19 has been a whole whirlwind of an experience. I mean, I’ve lost much of my senior year: prom, graduation, swim, award ceremonies, those last moments with friends and teachers. I’ve lost time with family, with my dad stuck on the East Coast for close to a month now and my sister quarantined at her home in Paris. As regards to my mental health, it has been a struggle. Feeling anxious and isolated has been exhausting, as well as dealing with relationships outside of my control. But there have been many positives too. I’m not sick, nor am I at high risk. I’ve gotten to become extremely close with my younger brother, having many movie nights and fort-sleepovers. I’ve taken time for myself in so many ways, through face masks and workouts and art and meditation. I’ve seen the beautifully positive effects that reduced human influences have had on the environment. Between the polarization and governmental strife, I’ve seen people coming together in their communities to help one another. COVID-19 is a tragedy of international proportions, but I’m trying to see the positives.



Valentina Perez-Rocha '20

If I could go back to the last Thursday we had school, I would have done many things differently. But most importantly, I would have worn my actual uniform. I would have worn my skirt (with no leggings or sweatpants under it), a navy polo (I’m not even sure where those are in my closet), a school sweater and jacket and white socks. Although this time at home, apart from friends and school, really does hurt, it has helped me realize to not take things for granted. I will never get back these past few weeks of my senior year but I advise you, lower classmen, to not take the small things for granted. Wear your uniform once in a while, because, I mean, they are pretty cute! Go out to lunch and sit with your friends instead of sitting in a classroom studying for a test. Have a good time at the assemblies; sing, laugh and dance. Don’t dread your sports practices, look forward to them. Have fun in class, it doesn’t always have to be so serious. I sit here, in between online classes, writing this, with the hope that on April 20th I will get all these moments back for a few more times along with prom, grad night and graduation. It is not until all these valuable moments get taken away that you realize how much they mean to you, enjoy it.



Amy Hickman '20

Senior year! The big 2020 vision. I have been looking forward to this year, especially the second semester of high school, all my life. The fun memories, the thrill of community, and the final moments as a class. It has been hard with the COVID-19 pandemic, especially knowing that so many lives are in danger. Even though I am blessed to be in my home with online schooling, it is still hard to manage around these times. Things like my senior night for lacrosse, senior farewell, and those little moments in class with friends, both close and distant would be no more. Not seeing my classmates, teachers, and all the people at my school every day breaks my heart. However, with all the stress of being separated has made me realize what I do have. I have a roof over my head, a loving family, and the technology so I can keep in touch. I am a firm believer that everything happens for a reason, and I think this is a time for reflection, security, and focus.



Zaynab Alameri '20

As a senior graduating this spring, I feel like it will be hard to celebrate something in the shadow of the immense global health issue occurring during this moment. All of us have imagined our graduations being one of the most rewarding and memorable days of our lives making it that much more difficult to fathom. But, I would not want to jeopardize the health of anyone for my selfish needs to have my “perfect graduation.” I have come to terms with the fact that there will always be a time to celebrate our life milestones but that time is not now and we must prioritize our own safety. I am neither angry nor upset because I know that everything happens for a reason and this will all serve its greater purpose. For now, I find fulfillment and contentment with what my daily routine looks like at home and take time to be introspective about my life. I think everyone should be asking themselves, “How can I take advantage of this time in order to improve, change, or acknowledge aspects of our lives while the world takes time to heal?”



Liz Prado Gonzalez '20

These last few days under quarantine have been interesting, to say the least. A complex situation like this comes with many different views on the issue, but at the end of the day no matter what our view is, we all just have to simply accept it. Yes, I’m upset that we might not have a Prom, and that our graduation will most likely be postponed, but you can’t be at war with the world forever. That is something that I’ve had to repeat to myself each day in order to try to preserve my peace of mind. I, of course, am not happy with this situation, but if I want to keep what’s left of my sanity, I’m going to have to learn to live with the fact that this is life. For now. I see no point in staying mad about something I can’t control, and something that isn’t my fault. Negative thoughts lead to a sad and dull life, but luckily my thoughts are the only thing I have control over that will make this quarantine heaven or hell. If I try to stay positive and look at the bright side of things, my thoughts will manifest into my everyday life, and this quarantine will become somewhat bearable. I’ve decided to do things I enjoy and to spend time with the people that make me the happiest. My guitar and I have been inseparable, rom-coms have become my bread and butter, and I’ve spent countless hours on Facetime calls that brighten up my days. There are many ways that we can keep ourselves distracted from the madness and away from insanity, so I encourage everyone to find their slices of heaven and get lost during these crazy times.


 

On the bright side, the Class of 2020 will never know the feeling of senioritis ;)


Q: Why are the names yellow?

A: That is my senior class color!!

bottom of page