top of page

A Letter to Iceland

Iceland,

The sweet breeze of your air against my cheeks handed me the experience of cold for the first time in my life. The crisp air sent an electric feeling down my spine as if to say, “wake up!” But I didn’t need that wake-up call, and you know that. The sun never sets on your land. The night shines a bright bluish-grey sky that would make me forget that I needed to sleep in the first place.

Green. That is the first word that pops in my mind when I think of you. I look around me, and that is all I see. I don’t even recall a time when I didn’t see green. I guess you wouldn’t allow that to happen as you know that that, in fact, is my favorite color.


On the road, my eyes were glued to the window as I saw your green hills, green mountains, and green moss-covered rocks pass by me. Every now and then, the ponies would arrive. Eager to meet me as I walk toward the multitude of waterfalls on every corner. That was when I witness your true beauty. The water played with me, sprinkling droplets all over my face. And I even slipped and fell as I walked under your precious waterfalls! It all happened in slow motion.



The crisp air. The green scenery. The ponies. The waterfalls.

It was all fun and games, I know. And I wish I could go once more to play with you again.


- Sofia

bottom of page