top of page

I went to a Student Leadership Conference and here is what I learned…

As I sit in the airport, my brain is running in circles as I truly analyze everything that I experienced this past week. I used to believe that time is always taunting me, never giving me the chance to experience everything that I have ever imagined, but I now realize how wrong my mindset has been. It is incredible the number of things you could learn and the number of people you could meet in a short time; in my case, four days.


I recently had the honor and privilege of being 1 of 2 girls in the United States selected to represent the National Coalition of Girls' Schools and The Academy of Our Lady of Peace at the Australasia Student Leadership Conference in Sydney, Australia. With the theme of "Take Flight," the conference, held at the Women's College at the University of Sydney, focused on providing a range of experiences, skills, tools, and knowledge to help all girls attending learn how to "take flight" in their leadership positions. The conference hosted multiple guest speakers, including adventurer and poet, Hayley Talbot, Founder and CEO of the Kokoda Track Foundation Dr. Guinevere Nelson, current Harvard University Student Xialene Chang, and many more. All of these fantastic changemakers gave us insight into how, as leaders, we should step away from traditional stereotypes to create a more inclusive society. This vibrant and inspirational conference has provided me the tools to confidently navigate my future and to champion women's empowerment. With the beautiful parting gift of a network of friends, I have never felt so close to a group of like-minded women, all leaders, from Australia, New Zealand, and Zimbabwe, who are also embarking on similar leadership journeys.

If I had any superpower in the world, I wish I could hand you my experience. Put all of my memories, thoughts, and adventures in a jar and give you the beauty of this trip. But, sadly, I don’t have this in my possession so, I have decided to provide you with a fantastic list of the most important things I learned as a leader, sister, daughter, and, most importantly, as a human being.

Throughout this conference, I was the human version of a sponge, absorbing every piece of information that was presented to me. In this world, we need more leaders that...


  • Use their voice to help the voiceless

  • Are eager to step out of their comfort zone and help others step out of theirs

  • Are ready to take on challenges with an inclusive and genuine approach


I recognize the privilege of having experienced this revitalized event. Now that I am home, I want to ring out my educational sponge and pass along the information I learned. With these new skills, I hope you will become inspired to dance with your potential, ultimately helping you start new habits that will lead you through your journey of becoming the bold leader that you were born to be.

 
Sydney Opera House, Sydney, Australia
 

Top four things I learned:

Before I address the tips and life lessons I received, I would like to mention briefly...Yes, I was surrounded by the most amazing accents of all time. And let me tell you, it was the best experience of my life. Not only did I hear the Australian accent, but the New Zealand and South African accent as well. Oh...yeah (I really hope you read that with an Australian accent because that is how I hear it in my brain as I write this down!) You could only imagine how internally happy I was as I sat in the conference continually listening to this accent in my surroundings. Can I please fall in love with someone with such a cute accent like those?? Okay... okay...I am done. Enjoy!!!


1. You need more than one goal!

When setting goals, it is easy to get caught up on one thing, often making us forget about what we will do once we reach that goal. Hayley Talbot, the first person to solo kayak and navigate 400km Clarence River in Australia, said, “The nectar of living in your dreams, is that you can always start a new one.” Beautifully said! Make a series of goals so that when you achieve one, the others are like a magnet that pulls you forward and allows you to feel success in your heart and let you continue to grow as a person.


2. Take off your glasses

Everyone wears glasses. We all have a perception and implicit bias that affect the way we see the world around us. Our race, economic status, family, friends, childhood, values all create an unconscious bias. We, as people, need to learn how to take off these glasses and empathize with others. This is one of those things that are easier said than done. It is manageable to be empathetic towards people who are similar to us because their shoes are similar to ours. Learning to take off our glasses is a work and progress. When we decide to understand one another, it makes us more sensitive as people and more respectful of others boundaries and limits.


3. Fear builds character

One of the most challenging things that we encounter in life is fear. It is inevitable and something that everyone has to overcome. When we face fear, don’t let it stop you from chasing the life you desire. Even if you really want to give up, strategize a new way to reach your goal and accept that fear got in your way. Move forward and know that people support you even in your slight detours.


4. Tell Everyone about your dreams!

It is difficult to tell others what your biggest aspirations are in life when you fear rejection and failure. I can certainly empathize with others on this as I typically hold in my dreams. It is hard to tell everyone, but once we know that fear builds character, there is nothing that can stop us. If any quote caught my attention at this conference, it would be this one, “You can’t do anything by yourself.” Inform the world about your hopes and Let others help you so your dreams can flourish and eventually come true.

 

bottom of page